Find IP of device attached to a CISCO switch

Posted: September 1, 2010 in CISCO
Tags: , ,

This can only be done with with L3 switches.

Run CLI command “show mac address-table”, you will get list with Vlan ID, mac address and port info.

Find your port in the list and take mac address which associates with this port. Then run “show arp” command and find the record with mentioned above mac address. You have ip you looking for.

for example:

PCORE02#show mac address-table | include 3/40
110    0017.4284.ef16   dynamic ip,ipx,assigned,other GigabitEthernet3/40   [Some time just put the port number like 3/40]

you have output:
110    0017.4284.ef16   dynamic ip,ipx,assigned,other GigabitEthernet3/40

sh arp | include 0017.4284.ef16

result:
Internet  10.80.10.140            4   0017.4284.ef16  ARPA   Vlan110

So you will get the IP address.

Comments
  1. Arpan says:

    Hi There, When i try to run command sh MAC address-table | include fa0/30 it does not give me any output….. I am sure device is attached to that port and it is on. Can you please let me know how can i find MAC address of that device attached to port 30.

    Cheers

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thank you once
    again.

  3. rc cars says:

    Excellent, what a webpage it is! This website presents useful
    facts to us, keep it up.

  4. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You can not imagine
    just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  5. certainly like your web-site but you have to take a
    look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts.
    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very troublesome to
    inform the reality then again I will surely come back again.

  6. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  7. Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of
    the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  8. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend who has been doing a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast simply because I found it for him…

    lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your
    internet site.

  9. Wow! Finally I got a weƅ site from where I can really obtɑin helkpful information concerning
    my study and knowledge.

  10. Very good post. I’m facing some of these issues as well..

Leave a Reply

